President Aquino to keynote APEC Public-Private Dialogue on Women and the Economy gathering

(MANILA, PHILIPPINES) President Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III will keynote the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Public-Private Dialogue on Women and the Economy (APEC PPDWE) which convenes on September 17, 2015 at the Philippine International Convention Center.

The APEC PPDWE gathers some 800 delegates and guests from 21 APEC member-economies representing the private sector, academia, and civil society for a dialogue and exchange of learning and best endeavors to advance gender integration, gender equality, and women’s economic empowerment agenda in APEC.

The PPDWE, which is part of the APEC Women and the Economy (APEC WE) 2015 Fora, shall provide Recommendations, which will be forwarded to the Ministers/Heads of Delegation to the High-Level Policy Dialogue on Women and the Economy, for incorporation in the APEC Women and the Economy Statement.

Hon. Gregory L. Domingo, Secretary of the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) and Chair of Ministers Responsible for Trade, will introduce the PresidentAquino was recently cited by visiting UN Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director of UN Women Phumzile MlamboNgcuka for his acceptance of the invitation to be a Global Champion of the HeforShe campaign.

Mlambo-Ngcuka also commended the Philippine Government’s efforts to achieve gender equality, in particular the Philippine Commission on Women leadership for its continuing initiatives on gender mainstreaming, ending violence against women, and women’s economic empowerment.

The UN Women Chief visited the country last September 8-9, to discuss the shared agenda of achieving gender equality and the empowerment of all women with the Philippine Government, the Asian Development Bank, and Civil Society Organizations. Her visit culminated in a high-level dialogue on “Economies that Work for Women” following the UN Women’s Flagship Report, Progress of the World’s Women 2015-2016: Transforming Economies, Realizing Rights.

According to the Global Gender Gap 2014 Report of the World Economic Forum (WEF), the Philippines remains the top performer in Asia-Pacific in terms of gender equality. The thrust therefore of the PPDWE is on underscoring the role of women as prime movers of inclusive growth. Prominent leaders in business, industries, and government will lead discussions, among them Ms. Heather Carroll Cox, Chief Client Experience Digital and Marketing Head of Citigroup; Ms. Adaire Fox-Martin, President of SAP Asia Pacific Japan; Atty. Adel Tamano, Vice President for Public Affairs and Communications of Coca-Cola Philippines; and Congresswoman Maria Leonor “Leni” Gerona Robredo of the 3rd District of Camarines Sur.

The opening program will include the Welcome Remarks from Hon. Nora K. Terrado, Chair of the APEC WE 2015 Fora and Undersecretary of the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), as well as an Opening Speech from Ms. Doris Magsaysay Ho, Chair of the APEC Business Advisory Council. Ms. Saadia Zahidi, World Economic Forum Senior Director for Parity, Human Capital and Constituents will present the Global Gender Gap Report by way of a video presentation.

There will be a panel session on its impact on the five pillars of access to capital and assets; access to markets; skills, capacity building, and health; leadership, voice, and agency; and innovation and technologyThis session will be moderated by Ms. Maria Ressa, Chief Executive Officer of Rappler.

TV Host Mr. Boy Abunda will moderate the discussion session on Young Women Leaders as Powerful Drivers of Change. The other moderators are: Ms. Mitzi Borromeo of CNN Philippines on Women in the International Markets and Global Value Chain; Ms. Karen Davila of ABS-CBN on Women and Inclusive Business; and Ms. Cheche Lazaro on Women and Sustainable Development. Representatives from China, Peru, and the Philippines will give the closing remarks. China was last year’s host while Peru will be the host next year.

The DTI was designated as over-all chair in the Philippine hosting of the APEC WE Fora 2015. The Steering Committee is composed of Hon. Nora K. Terrado, Undersecretary and Chief of Staff of the DTI; Ms. Emmeline L. Verzosa, Executive Director of the Philippine Commission on Women; and Ms. Ma. Aurora “Boots’ Geotina-Garcia, Chair of the Women’s Business Council of the Philippines.

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, or APEC, is the premier forum for facilitating economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region. The APEC’s 21 Member Economies are the AustraliaBrunei DarussalamCanadaChile; People’s Republic of ChinaHong Kong, ChinaIndonesiaJapan; Republic of Korea; MalaysiaMexicoNew ZealandPapua New GuineaPeru; the PhilippinesRussiaSingaporeChinese TaipeiThailandUnited Statesand Viet Nam.

For more information about the APEC WE 2015 Fora, please visit (END)